Home > Uncategorized > Hello I Am The Quacking Duck

Hello I Am The Quacking Duck


Hello I am the Quacking Duck

I am a seeker of answers and a sharer of knowledge. I am fascinated and almost totally preoccupied with the where and whys of Canada. The mixing of our cultures and our political views; our political figures and the decisions they make. I love learning about the history of Canada and passing it on. Our history, like all countries is filled with things we can be proud of and things that we are rightfully ashamed of, but they are what we were and are what helped shape who we are today, for better or for worse. The proud things make the paper and the shameful things that get swept under the rug, or buried in the 100th page of the news paper still affect our country the same. I am the person who will dig them out and bring them to you; I will try to put at your finger tips supporting links, videos and pictures.  I am passionate in the stories I tell, because I care. I am like a quacking duck; I make a noise that is hard to ignore.

The things that I write about were happening as I grew up and are still happening now all over Canada as I write .  I remember my friends and I talking as children and them saying to me whenever we heard stories about the  struggle for equal rights in the United States, ” The united States should be ashamed of itself for the way it treats its negroes. Lucky we are in Canada, there is no prejudice here.”  I now know different of course, but the prejudice was difficult to recognize, back then. It was not something Canadians were proud of so it got swept under the rug, buried in the back of the paper, and certainly never talked about in public.

The word prejudice is a word that no one wants attached to them, but the actions and things that this word embodies and the consequences that are seen as a direct result of them are far worse than the label. I wish to change the way people think about prejudice; it is not a Black verses White thing only. It is an English verses French thing; A Catholic verses Protestant thing  a Muslim verses Christian thing and it is who we have become.

Together I hope we will visit communities, cultures and historical differences and see what we can do to expose that which is buried and bring into the light that which has been cloaked in darkness. Perhaps taking a good look in the mirror will spark a desire for real change in not the other person, but in ourselves and the way we view others different then ourselves and thus bring about real peace, understanding and tolerance for  all people, all religions and all cultures.  I will try to cover the current events as they unfold in Quebec and the other provinces , but it is in Quebec that I live so it is only natural that I will be drawn to its many problems and delights.  Let us take a walk and see what Quebec and the other provinces are about when it comes to equality and quality of life for their citizens and let us see where we as a people and Canada as a country are heading in terms of rights and freedoms for all people both at home and abroad. Finally let us explore together if there is any future in us remaining a country when every province can leave the country if it so choses and threatens to do so every time it does not get its way.  I think country’s political make up is like building your house’s  foundation in quicksand and waiting for it to sink, or being afraid to make a move in case you cause it to sink, but let us take a look anyway shall we?

                                                                                                                                 The Quacking Duck

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

